home graduate undergrad faculty gallery alumni faciliteis


Professor Emeritus

Doyle Gertjejansen received his MFA degree with a major in painting and minor in art history from the University of Minnesota. He has resided in New Orleans for most of his professional career, teaching and serving as chairman of the Department of Fine Arts at the University of New Orleans. In New Orleans his work has been represented by the Arthur Roger Gallery, Galerie Simonne Stern, and currently, Gallery Bienvenu. He has served on the Board of Directors of the New Orleans Contemporary Arts Center and the Arts Council of New Orleans, and served in many other positions in the community and at the University of New Orleans.

His work has been exhibited in numerous one-person and group exhibitions and is included in public, private, and corporate collections throughout the United States and abroad. In 1996 he received a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in painting and the Phi Kappa Phi South Central Artist’s Award. He has received numerous other grants, awards, and honors including a Louisiana Division of the Arts Fellowship for painting and works on paper in 1999.

Gertjejansen has been creating large scale mixed media abstractions for over three decades. His primary body of work also includes drawings and works on paper, monotypes, and sculpture. The most recent work focuses on complex layers of abstract and pictorial imagery drawn from his personal history, the history of art, contemporary philosophy, science, and other disciplines.

Doyle retired from the department at the end of the Spring 2011 semester after forty years of dedicated service, but conitnues to serve the University in a teaching capacity.


Faculty and Staff
Alexa Arroyo
Tony Campbell
Doyle Gertjejansen
Cheryl Hayes
Richard Johnson
Ariya Martin
Rebecca Reynolds
Jim Richard
Jeffrey Rinehart
Kathy Rodriguez
Dan Rule